Our local road network consists of 1075km of unsealed roads, 780km of sealed roads, 91 road and pedestrian bridges, 100 major culverts, 20,000m2 of floodways and causeways, and hundreds of minor culverts.

Within the Tablelands region, roads are classified as either a state road (rural arterial roads) or a TRC road. Use the Road Lookup to find out who controls the roads in our region.

TRC Roads

Work on TRC roads is funded from TRC revenue or grants from the State and Federal Governments. Contact us to report a problem with a TRC road.

State Roads

We currently maintain 398.535km of state roads under our Road Maintenance Performance Contract with the Department of Transport and Main Roads. These roads include:

  • Atherton–Herberton Road
  • East Evelyn Road
  • Gordonvale–Atherton (Gillies) Road (various sections)
  • Gulf Development Road (various sections)
  • Herberton–Petford Road
  • Kennedy Development Road
  • Kennedy Highway (various sections)
  • Longlands Gap Road
  • Malanda–Atherton Road
  • Malanda–Lake Barrine Road
  • Malanda–Upper Barron Road
  • Millaa Millaa–Malanda Road
  • Palmerston Highway (various sections)
  • Tinaroo Falls Dam Road
  • Topaz Road
  • Tumoulin Road
  • Upper Barron Road

Contact the Department of Transport and Main Roads on 13 19 40 to report a problem with a state-controlled road. Visit  Qld Government traffic and travel information for status, traffic and condition information.