Congratulations to TRC’s Australia Day Award Nominees

Thirty-four community members and organisations have been nominated across nine categories for Tablelands Regional Council’s Australia Day Awards.

‘It’s fantastic to see these exceptional people and groups being recognised,’ said Mayor Rod Marti.

‘We have such a great community and that doesn’t happen without the contribution of people like those who have been nominated.

‘The winners will be announced at a ceremony on Australia Day at the Atherton International Club — doors open at 10am for a 10.30am start,’ said Mayor Marti.

The nominees are:

Citizen of the Year

Gail Barton
Raymond Byrnes
Gill Harrington
Peter MacGregor

Young Citizen of the Year

Tylah Burnett
Taylah Dalgety
Marni Dennis
Chloe Robertson

Community Service Award           

Atherton Meals on Wheels
Atherton State Emergency Services
Tania Bolger and Anita Brennan
Aaron Dozier
Jaelene Durrand
Bree Hargreaves
Donna Leigh
Glenn McKeown
Doreen Mortimore
The Slotted Spoon
Peter Tuck and Tableland Trees, Trails and Tracks
Sarah Woodleigh

Inclusion Award

Atherton Show Society
Better Together Community Support
Eacham Community Help Organisation Inc.
Jirrbal Aboriginal Corporation

Cultural Award

Rebel Warren

Junior Cultural Award

Atherton Performing Arts Youth Theatre
Tahalia Durrand

Junior Sports Award

Breanne Wadley

Sports Supporter Award

Louise Anderson-Clemence
Annette Schep

Community Event of the Year

Malanda Christmas Street Festival
Malanda Show Ball
Smokey Blue Rally