Garden Award Winners

The winners of the much anticipated and eagerly contested Tablelands Garden Awards were announced today (Wednesday 21 September) at a ceremony at Tablelands Regional Council.

Councillor Annette Haydon was this year’s judge and she was once again impressed with the nominated gardens.

‘We received 15 nominations from across the region and judging was really tough because the gardens were all fantastic.

‘There were entries across seven categories, and the community, commercial and home gardens were the most popular.

‘We travelled to Atherton, Malanda, Millaa Millaa, Mount Garnet, Upper Barron, Walkamin, Tolga, Yungaburra, and Herberton to see the gardens.

‘It was great to be invited onto these properties and fantastic to hear the gardeners’ personal stories.

‘The difference in the gardens because of our region’s range of climate and locations was also amazing.

‘I was totally blown away by the pride and passion these people have for their gardens.

‘I congratulate not only the winners of each category, but everyone who nominated and anyone who spends time in their garden,’ said Councillor Haydon.

Nominees and winners

Garden of the Year

  • Casey and Ian Perkes, Tolga

Home Garden

  • Katherine and Ian Hays, Tolga — first place
  • Barbara Biggs, Atherton — second place
  • Fay Marsh, Mount Garnet
  • Casey and Ian Perkes, Tolga
  • Rebecca Hearn, Upper Barron

New Home Garden

  • Nicole van Beuningen, Yungaburra

Rural Home Garden

  • Casey and Ian Perkes, Tolga — first place
  • Sharyn Petersen, Walkamin — second place
  • Katherine and Ian Hays, Tolga

Edible Garden

  • Rebecca Hearn, Upper Barron — first place
  • Malanda Primary School — second place
  • Jubilee Christian College

Community Garden

  • Better Together, Atherton — first place
  • Malanda Primary School — second place
  • Tolga Railway Museum
  • Herberton Historic Railway

Commercial Garden

  • Walkamin Caravan Park — first place
  • NRMA Atherton Tablelands Holiday Park — second place
  • Millaa Millaa Caravan Park
  • Tolga Railway Museum

Young Gardener

  • Jubilee Christian College

People’s Choice (from 392 votes)

  • Walkamin Caravan Park

Thanks to Seaperia, Bunnings Warehouse and Atherton Rotary Club for their donations towards prizes.

Judge Councillor Annette Haydon and Casey Perkes of Tolga. Casey and Ian Perkes won Garden of the Year and Rural Home Garden categories. © TRC.