

Post Election Council Meeting

Coordination Centre, 15 Vernon Street, Atherton Tuesday, 09 April 2024 at 9:00 AM

MINUTES

1. MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

Members Present: Cr Rod Marti (Mayor), Crs K Cardew, A Haydon, D Bilney, Kylie Lang, Maree Baade, Con Spanos

2. OFFICERS IN ATTENDANCE

G Rinehart (Chief Executive Officer), H Jackson (General Manager Community & Corporate Services), M Vis (General Manager Infrastructure & Environmental Services), S Lisle (Executive Manager Development Services), A Finocchiaro (Executive Manager Economic Development), K Korevaar (Executive Manager Project Management Office), B Gardiner (Manager Water & Waste), S Savich (Manager Strategic Assets), D Fletcher (Manager Roads & Projects), T Tanase (Manager Environment & Natural Assets), E Bowden (Manager Finance), K Edwards (Manager People & Culture), A Henderson (Manager Systems & Information), S McHardie (Manager Community Services), T Vallance (Strategic Communications), A Loudon (Minute Secretary).

3. APOLOGIES/LEAVE OF ABSENCE

No apologies.

4. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Chairperson delivered this Acknowledgement of Country — 'I acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the land on which we work and live, and pay respect to Elders past, present and emerging.'



No Declarations

CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

Moved by Cr David Bilney

Seconded by Cr Maree Baade

"That the Minutes of the Ordinary Council Meeting held on 14 March 2024, be confirmed as true and correct.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Nomination Speeches

Cr Haydon commenced her speech for nomination of Deputy Mayor at 9.03am and concluded at 9.08am.

Cr Bilney commenced his speech for nomination of Deputy Mayor at 9.08am and concluded at 9.17am.

MORNING TEA ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned for morning tea at 9.17am and resumed at 9.38am.

Nomination ballot was conducted at 9.39am and the count was concluded at 9.40am Cr Haydon received 3 votes whilst Cr Bilney received 4 votes.

6. CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

6.1. APPOINTING OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Moved by Cr Con Spanos

Seconded by Cr Maree Baade

"That Council appoint Cr David Bilney as Deputy Mayor."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY



Moved by Cr David Bilney Seconded by Cr Kylie Lang

"That Council:

- 1. Hold its Ordinary Meetings on the fourth Thursday of the month commencing at 9.00am, except for the April 2024 meeting which is to be held on Wednesday 24 April 2024 due to ANZAC Day on 25 April 2024.
- Conduct these Meetings at 15 Vernon Street, Atherton, unless otherwise resolved by Council pursuant to section 257(3) of the *Local Government Regulation 2012* (**LG Reg**).
- 3. Publish the meeting dates as legislated by the LG Reg.
- 4. Advise the public that Meetings will be made available for real-time and webcast viewing or listening by the public on Council's website."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6.3. PLANNING STANDING COMMITTEE

Moved by Cr Kylie Lang Seconded by Cr Con Spanos

"That Council dissolves its planning standing committee".

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

6.4. APPOINTMENT OF FNQROC REPRESENTATIVE

Moved by Cr Maree Baade Seconded by Cr Annette Haydon

"That Council:

- appoints the Mayor as its representative pursuant to Clause 11 of the Far North Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils (FNQROC) Charter;
- 2. delegates to the Chief Executive Officer the power to appoint an elected representative for the purpose of FNQROC's Charter, in the event the Mayor is unavailable and the Deputy Mayor is also unavailable."

AMENDMENT TO THE MOTION BY CR CARDEW

Moved by Cr Kevin Cardew Seconded by Cr Maree Baade

"That Council:

1. appoints the Mayor as its representative pursuant to Clause 11 of the Far North Queensland Regional Organisation of Councils (**FNQROC**) Charter;

- 2. requires a summary of FNQROC minutes to be presented at the next available Ordinary Council Meeting.
- 3. delegates to the Chief Executive Officer the power to appoint an elected representative for the purpose of FNQROC's Charter, in the event the Mayor is unavailable and the Deputy Mayor is also unavailable."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The amendment became the motion as was put and carried unanimously.

6.5. LOCAL DISASTER MANAGEMENT GROUP APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR AND DEPUTY CHAIR

Moved by Cr Kylie Lang

Seconded by Cr Con Spanos

"That Council:

- 1. Appoint the Mayor as Chairperson of Local Disaster Management Group
- 2. Appoint Cr David Bilney as Deputy Chairperson of the Local Disaster Management Group."

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

7. INFRASTRUCTURE & PLANNING SERVICES

Nil

8. COMMUNITY & CORPORATE SERVICES

Nil

9. CONFIDENTIAL ITEMS

Nil

10. NEXT MEETING OF COUNCIL

The next meeting of Council will be held at Atherton
Ordinary Meeting – 9.00am on 24 April 2024

There being no further business, the meeting closed 10.01am

Cr Rod Marti	Gary Rinehart
Mayor	Chief Executive Office